What is the ‘Rolling Thunder Series’ all about?


Two years ago, Rolling Thunder was introduced as an event at Vodafone Speedway – Western Springs. This event saw the return of the Super Saloons who had not raced here for over 20 years, along with the other premier classes we host at the venue. The Sprint Car class ran for the coveted ‘Championship Ring’ awarded to both the winning driver and car owner.
Then there was the ‘celebrity race’ which had the likes of Emma Gilmour, Mad Mike, Greg Murphy and Sarah Walker, to name a few, participating, all good fun for everyone watching.
The plan is to take this event on the road, creating the Rolling Thunder Series. This season will see rounds at Palmerston North, Bay Park and Vodafone Speedway – Western Springs. Three weekends in a row, live streamed for those who can’t make it to all of the rounds, and it will involve the three premier classes: Sprint Cars, Super Saloons and Open Grade Midgets.
The dates are: Palmerston North 24th February 2018 Bay Park 3rd March 2018 Vodafone Speedway 10th March 2018
Racing for a total prize pool of almost $90,000 for the three classes, this Series will be well supported by the best competitors in the country.
The Series competitors will be restricted to 20 in each class, all competing for the Rolling Thunder Series Championship. Other drivers can compete at any of the rounds just as they may ordinarily do, however the Series Trophy and overall prize pools are held for the 20 registered drivers in each class.
The list of these registered drivers will be posted in the next day or so. So, go ahead and book your accommodation and get those leave forms in, so you get to these tracks running the Rolling Thunder Series.