Stewart Stalks and Pounces


Following a disappointing World of Outlaws campaign, Shane Stewart reminded everyone of his class by taking out round one of the Porter Hire International Sprintcar Series. Drivers contended with an extended early stoppage for Kerry Brocas who crashed violently into the turn one catch fence.Amazingly Brocas walked away from what left of his once pristine Sprintcar. Following the restart, Jamie Larsen led away from Stewart and Daniel Eggleton.

Lapped traffic tightened up the race with Australian star Jamie Veal sneaking up the inside of Eggleton to take third. Allard followed Veal but the moves would be thwarted by a yellow for the stricken Brian Edwards. The best action of the race came at the end as the higher line in Town Bend opened up, allowing Larsen and Stewart to go side by side for a full lap from the restart. Stewart eventually prevailed around the high line in Pine Tree Bend, building a lead as the laps wound down.

It was a good thing Stewart built a lead as he jumped the cushion in Pine Tree Bend late in the race, allowing Larsen to close up to his tail tank. However, a move wasn’t forthcoming, Stewart prevailing for his fourth win in five Western Springs International Sprintcar Series starts. Jamie Veal found late race pace to complete a multi-national podium, relegating a gallant Eggleton to fourth ahead of Allard and Murcott.

Earlier in the night Larsen set a new 12-lap track record at 2:32.898, well ahead of the old record of 2:36.567 recorded by Dean Brindle on 28th February 2015.

It was double delight on the night for American fans as Zach Daum took a memorable win in the Midget feature. Daum was the first of the leaders to find dirt high in Pine Tree Bend, executing a series of moves which were applauded by the knowledgeable Springs crowd. Having passed Hayden Guptill for second place, Daum revealed post-race he thought his chances of winning were over when a yellow thwarted the move.

Sure enough, Guptill took Daum’s line from the restart but Daum made a slide job stick to take second. Daum experimented with lines in Town Bend to optimise his speed in Pine Tree Bend, eventually finding the formula to take the lead from Brock Maskovich. Guptill, made a magnificent last lap move, cutting up the inside exiting Pine Tree bend to take second from Maskovich.

Two F2 Midget track records fell on the night. Lindsay Gate lowered to 10-lap record in heat one to 2:34.882, beating Nathan Howards 2:35.135 set on 16 March 2019. Travis Buckley recorded a breakthrough feature win having recorded duel second placings at the first two meetings. His 15-lap time of 3:56.856 lowering another Howard marker of 3:59.811 set 20th January 2018.

A pecking order is being established ahead of the New Zealand TQ Title on January 3rd. Scott Baker won his second feature of the season, leaving the field well behind. National champion Jeremy Webb a comfortable second ahead of perennial contender Ryan Barry. Webb is yet to finish worse than second this season as he seeks a third straight national TQ title. Keiano Weir enjoyed a successful night in the quarter midgets with Cole Robertson joining Weir in the winner’s circle.

Our next show on December 14 plans to be one of the best Sprintcar races we have seen for a while. $10,000 to win World 1/4 Mile Sprintcar Classic. It will be the last chance to see the International Sprintcar stars and will have a full support program.

Heat 1 – Jamie Larsen, Dean Cooper, Rodney Wood, Craig Dollansky, Jamie Veal
Heat 2 – David Murcott, Jonathan Allard, Glen Torpey, Jayden Dodge, Stephen Taylor
Heat 3 – Shane Stewart, Daniel Eggleton, Jamie Veal, Stephen Taylor, Dion Kendall
Heat 4 – Dean Brindle, Brian Edwards, Jamie Larsen. Dave Witton, Craig Dollansky
Semi-Main – James Dahm, Dean Cooper, Matthew Leversedge, Daniel Rogers, Dave Witton
Feature – Shane Stewart, Jamie Larsen, Jamie Veal, Daniel Eggleton, Jonathan Allard

Test 1 – Larsen, Stewart, Murcott, Veal, Allard, Eggleton
Test 2 – Stewart, Eggleton, Murcott, Veal, Taylor, Allard (DNF)
Test 3 – Allard, Veal, Larsen, Murcott, Eggleton, Stewart

Australia (106) – Jamie Veal (53), David Murcott (53)
New Zealand (104) – Daniel Eggleton (50), Jamie Larsen (38), Stephen Taylor (16)
USA (90) – Shane Stewart (54), Jonathan Allard (36)

Heat 1 – Kayne Buck, Ryan O’Connor, Brock Maskovich, Hayden Guptill, Brett Morris Jr
Heat 2 – Zach Daum, Hayden Williams, Michael Brunt, Matthew McCutcheon, James Earl
Heat 3 – Brock Maskovich, Peter Hunnibell, Breyton Davison, Max Guildford, Jayden Worthington
Heat 4 – Hayden Guptill, Shayne Alach, Brett Morris Jnr, Travis Buckley, Hayden Williams
Semi-Main – Michael Brunt, Ben Cometti, Brad Hollier, James Cossey, Hamish Dobbyn
Feature – Zach Daum, Hayden Guptill, Brock Maskovich, Brett Morris Jr, Matthew McCutcheon

F2 Midgets
Heat 1 – Lindsay Gate, Sam Cometti, Leyton Kendall, Brynn Jackson, Mike Driver
Heat 2 – Mitch Osborne, Brad McCutcheon, Travis Buckley, Kenny Roberts, Jordan McDonnell
Feature – Travis Buckley, Mitch Osborne, Lindsay Gate, Leyton Kendall, Daryl Webster

Heat 1 – Jeremy Webb, Shaun Cooke, Gina Harris, Paul LeCren, Ryan Baker
Heat 2 – Ryan Barry, Cole Morrison, Ryan Baker, Aaron Humble, Peter Hunnibell
Heat 3 – Scott Baker, Ben Morrison, Shayne Minchington, Morgan McHugh, Josh Melrose
Feature – Scott Baker, Jeremy Webb, Ryan Barry, Ryan Baker, Morgan McHugh