Speedway New Zealand 2019 Awards Finalists


19 representations from Springs Speedway

The 2019 New Zealand Speedway awards finalist have just been announced and this year could see a big haul from Springs Speedway with a finalist in over 50% of the Categories. For the first time in the history of the awards, Springs Speedway has a driver from all our classes up for Competitor of the year in their represented grade.

The wing warrior class has current 3nz Michael Pickens as the only finalist from the Springs, unfortunately Michael just missed out on taking home his first national title in the class this year, but has proven on the dirt that he is a force to be reckoned with and the 1nz won’t be far away from shining on his tail tank soon. For competitor of the year in Midgets, Springs Speedway has 3 of the 4-finalist registered to our track, including F2 driver Matthew McCutcheon, the first time an F2 driver has made the final 4.
Other nominations who also run the A on the tail tank are 8 times national and current champion of New Zealand Michael Pickens, who this year became the winningest driver in the national title history. Another finalist is a former national champion and current 2nz Brad Mosen, who has had a pretty good first season since changing from BSL racing to Seamount Racing this year.

The pocket rocket category for Competitor of the year in The TQ class has 2 springs nominations, Ryan Baker has had a stellar season at the springs with a huge tally of feature wins and is the current 3nz, also the very fast and exciting to watch Ryan Barry has also made the final 4 which is a great achievement for both the driver and his team.

For the stars of the future, the finalist for Quarter Midget competitor of the year category is also stacked with Springs Speedway representation with 3 of the 4 drivers announced as regulars around the quarter-mile track at Western Springs. Reagan Edwards and Keiano Weir have their first nomination, both drivers have finished on the podiums in the features multiple times and are coming off the back of their best season at springs to date. There is no surprise that King of the Springs 3 x winner Emmerson Vincent is the 3rd finalist, Emerson nearly won every feature he started last year including the one that left him less than an hour to board a plane to race in America on our final night.

The individual and track awards were also announced, and we are very pleased with the representation filled with Springs Speedway Family. We know just how hard drivers, car owners and race teams work to put on what we believe is the greatest show on dirt at the springs and it’s great to see that also those that work very hard behind the scenes are also getting recognised for their hard work.
Gina Harris has been named a finalist in the category for contribution to Speedway, which is great because we have seen the hard work ourselves that Gina has done on and off the track when it comes to Speedway and representing Harris Race Cars.
Dean Napier has also been recognised for his dedication to the sport making it as a finalist for Track official of the year which alone is a great achievement and something to be very proud of.

Springs Speedway has also made the finalist list in two top categories’ for “Speedway series of the year” with the United Truck Parts International Midget Car Series, and also “Speedway track of the year” in the private or professional run category of the Awards.

Matthew Percival has made the finals in two category’s and it’s great to see him finally getting recognised for all the long hours and hard work, He is in the final four for both “written article of the year” and with Springs Speedway Facebook page for “ online presence of the year, a great achievement. The photographer of the year category has one of our official photographers that flash their stuff here at the Springs, Jeremy ward from Shot360.

An award that has alluded the springs many times this year will have representation from Springs Speedway with Macau Johnson-Hadley being announced as a finalist in the “Commentary of the year” award. This is Macau’s first nomination and has only been doing commentary for 4 years making him defiantly a newbie to the category but has a great chance of coming home with the silverware, an achievement for the new emcee.

The Awards night will be held on Saturday, July 20th at the Trust Arena, 65-67 Central Park Drive in Henderson.
The lights and Red Carpet will roll out for the prestigious event and Bill Buckley Promoter and the team at Springs Promotions are very proud of all the work that is done by staff, volunteers, drivers, crew and car owners and wish all finalist for the 2019 awards the very best of luck.

A full list of all finalist and all categories can be found here http://www.speedway.co.nz/2019-AWARDS. If you would like to go along you can purchase tickets if you wish to attend the event from www.speedway.co.nz.

We look forward to seeing who will come out on top and take home the silverware and will announce the winners once they come to hand.