The Rolling Thunder Series is about to get underway for the first time. This extremely successful event was initially only hosted at Vodafone Speedway – Western Springs for the past two years. The fans flocked to the venue to see the premier classes duel it out on the tight ¼ mile dirt circuit.

This year three classes take the ‘show on the road’. We see the Super Saloons, the JA Russell Sprint Cars and the Marley Midgets head to Palmerston North on the 24th February 2018.

They will be supported by two local classes which collectively will provide a whole lot of great racing. “Its good to see a Series like this get started,” said Greg Mosen Promoter – Western Springs, “the drivers are franchised to the Series and I expect to have a large number of drivers wanting to be part of this moving forward,” he said.

The only class that is restricted to the franchise holders is the Super Saloons which is a decision that class made, the other two classes is likely to have local drivers race which is also great.

The current list of Rolling Thunder Super Saloon drivers is:

1NZ Terry Corin
7M Brent Emerson
8H Craig Cardwell
9W Mark Pitcher
11E Peter Dickson
124M Dan Corrin
16R Mark Osborne
18M Sam Waddell
23B Mick Quin
24M Ian Daniel
24W Martin Halcrow
26E Shane McIntyre
27M Chris Cowling
37M Steve Cowling
63W David Speirs
92M Scott Hayward
96A Lance Jennings