Press Release – September 2017.


“In recent weeks there have been a number of concerns held by both the Promoters and Competitors surrounding decisions made by the Board of Directors of Speedway New Zealand. One of these included the compulsory application of a ‘Safety Test’ to be completed by every competitor prior to being permitted to obtain their Speedway New Zealand License. This was withdrawn by Speedway New Zealand almost immediately given the surge of complaints they became exposed to from all of those affected. The lack of consideration and transparency exhibited by Speedway New Zealand gave cause to have the majority of club and track promoters request an urgent Special General Meeting with the Board of Directors and the CEO of Speedway New Zealand to discuss these issues. Unfortunately Speedway New Zealand have elected to not chair this meeting based on legal advice obtained.
To avoid further disruption to the impending speedway season for all concerned, the unanimous decision from club and track promoters is to meet at a suitable time in the near future to discuss and ensure the future of our sport is managed appropriately”.

This ‘release’ is supported by the following clubs and tracks:
1. AmPro Tools Woodford Glen Speedway, 2. Huntly Placemakers Speedway, 3. McDonalds Kihikihi Speedway, 4. Beachlands Speedway Dunedin, 5. Vodafone Speedway Western Springs, 6. Bay Park Family Speedway, 7. Nelson Speedway Association,
8. Eastland Group Raceway – Gisborne, 9. Max Motors Family Speedway – Wellington, 10. Ruapuna Speedway Christchurch, 11. Ocean View Speedway – Wanganui, 12. Waikaraka Park Speedway, 13. Central Motor Speedway – Cromwell, 14. Meeanee Speedway – Napier, 15. Robertson Holden International Speedway – Palmerston North, 16. Riverside Speedway – Invercargill, 17. Greenstone Park Speedway – Greymouth, 18. TWS Paradise Valley Speedway – Rotorua Stockcar Club, 19. Taranaki Stockcar Club – Stratford Speedway