Larsen Dominates the World Sprintcar Classic


It was third time lucky for Jamie Larsen as he dominated the $10,000 to win, 40-lap conclusion to the Porter Hire International Sprintcar Series. Having led the majority of laps at the north island title and last weeks international series opener, Larsen finally topped the podium when the big money was on the line.

Having won the pole shuffle courtesy of a win over Keaton Dahm, Larsen went green to checkers at the front of the field. His speed and sheer consistency nullifying any serious challenges. Behind him, Jonathan Allard and Jamie Veal battled it out for second with Stephen Taylor on hand to pounce on any mistakes. It wasn’t a positive night for last week’s winner Shane Stewart who faced an early setback via a heat race dnf then rolled on his side early in the feature.

Hayden Williams captured his second Midget feature of the season. Behind him it was a race for the ages. Zach Daumfrom the front, Shayne Alach the middle and a returning Brad Mosen from the rear kept fans on the edge of their seats as they advanced through the field. Sadly, for Daum he found a demise via the turn one cushion. As if concluding in a perfect crescendo, Williams, Alach and Mosen found themselves battling at the front in the final 10 laps. Alach launched an audacious slide job in town bend but Williams was able to repel, gapping the aforementioned duo.

Mitch Osborne was in a class of his own in the F2 Midgets, becoming the first two-time winner this season. Behind him Leyton Kendall and Corbin Anderson battled it out for second. But it wasn’t to be for Anderson who failed to make the race distance along with several others. Just 9 cars classified as finishers in an attrition race. The same could be said for TQ’s who substantially added to the nights flip count. Ryan Baker added himself to the season winners list in the absence of brother Scott Baker and Jeremy Webb who was winning the South Island Midget title in Nelson.

Through 16 adult feature races this season we’ve witnessed 13 different winners.

Next meeting is one of our biggest. It’s the United Truck Parts International Midget Series on Boxing Night. This year we have 7 American and 3 Australian drivers joining the best from New Zealand for what is sure to be an incredible night of racing.

Heat 1 – Keaton Dahm, Brian Edwards, Jamie Larsen, Matthew Leversedge, Dean Shadbolt
Heat 2 – Stephen Taylor, Dean Cooper, Dean Brindle, Jamie Veal, Tyler Radovan
Heat 3 – Craig Dollansky, Glen Torpey, Daniel Eggleton, Jamie Larsen, Dean Brindle
Heat 4 – Shane Stewart, Jonathan Allard, David Murcott, Jamie Veal, Rodney Wood
Pole Shuffle – Jamie Larsen, Keaton Dahm, Stephen Taylor, Jonathan Allard, Dean Brindle
Feature – Jamie Larsen, Jonathan Allard, Jamie Veal, Stephen Taylor, Keaton Dahm

Heat 1 – Hayden Williams, Jayden Worthington, Peter Hunnibell, Max Guildford, James Earl
Heat 2 – Brock Maskovich, Breyton Davison, Ryan O’Connor, Zach Daum, David Pellow
Heat 3 – Zach Daum, James Earl, Ryan O’Connor, Matthew McCutcheon, Shayne Alach
Heat 4 – Hayden Williams, Brock Maskovich, Hayden Guptill, Nathan Howard, Jayden Worthington
Semi-Main – Brad Mosen, Aaron Hodgson, Joe Malone, Brad Hollier
Feature – Hayden Williams, Shayne Alach, Brad Mosen, Matthew McCutcheon, Brock Maskovich

F2 Midgets
Heat 1 – Brad Robertson, Kenny Roberts, Travis Buckley, Leyton Kendall, Nathan Harding
Heat 2 – Mitch Osborne, Sam Cometti, Corbin Anderson, Eric Smith, Brad McCutcheon
Feature – Mitch Osborne, Leyton Kendall, Kenny Roberts, Eric Smith, Adam Davis

Heat 1 – Shaun Cooke, Troy Pennington, Aaron Humble, Ryan Baker, Ben Morrison
Heat 2 – Ryan Baker, Ryan Barry, Harrison Martens, Danny Keene, Kaleb Currie
Heat 3 – Peter Hunnibell, Cole Morrison, Ben Morrison, Morgan McHugh, Jakeb Le Cren
Feature – Ryan Baker, Kaleb Currie, Shaun Cooke, Morgan McHugh, Aaron Humble